PP SS and U without moving? Is it possible?

Moderator: Brigadier Tony

PP SS and U without moving? Is it possible?

Postby Fjodin » Wed Jul 15, 2009 10:55 pm

If my ship have engine capacity of 3 and speed of 3, can it make U turn without moving any hexes next turn? (Previous turn 3 hexes, this turn 0 hexes with U turn)?
User avatar
Fjodin
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 10:43 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Postby Go0gleplex » Thu Jul 16, 2009 2:04 am

The movement rules - thrust requirements state that the a U maneuver is "the sum of the previous speed and current speed". Therefore, as you stated the ship could not make a U turn since the orders would be -3U, thus requiring 3 (previous speed) + (-)3 (to achieve speed 0 this turn) = 6 thrust required. Given the ship has only 3 thrust it would not be until the following turn before it could effect the maneuver,

It would not be able to perform just a U order with the previous and current speed at 3, thus being 3+3 = 6 still, since no thrust would be applied to reduce the current speed.

It could do a U3 order once speed was reduced to 0 on the previous turn, thereby being 0+3= 3 thrust required.

This is clearly stated in example 4 on page 19

There is an option for delayed turning on page 49-50 that might be applied (I haven't read through it to confirm however)

Hope this helps.
I admit it! I'm a greedy ship-a-holic...next fleet please!
Go0gleplex
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 4:43 pm
Location: Keizer, OR

Postby Fjodin » Thu Jul 16, 2009 4:34 am

Thanx for helping. But what about this situation:

Engine capacity -3
1turn - move forward 3 hexes (speed 3)
2turn - make an U with speed lovered to zero (I mean 0U). Previos speed 3, and current is 0, so 3+0=3 and engine capacity, is 3. So its ok?
User avatar
Fjodin
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 10:43 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Postby Go0gleplex » Thu Jul 16, 2009 3:09 pm

Fjodin wrote:Thanx for helping. But what about this situation:

Engine capacity -3
1turn - move forward 3 hexes (speed 3)
2turn - make an U with speed lovered to zero (I mean 0U). Previos speed 3, and current is 0, so 3+0=3 and engine capacity, is 3. So its ok?


Like I stated in my first response, you first need to reduce speed to 0 from 3. You cannot do this without applying thrust to slow down since the speed 3 will carry over from turn 1. (see first example page 16-17)

So you will need three turns to perform a U order legally.
I admit it! I'm a greedy ship-a-holic...next fleet please!
Go0gleplex
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 4:43 pm
Location: Keizer, OR

Postby Fjodin » Thu Jul 16, 2009 11:14 pm

So it will be like this:
1turn - move forward 3 hexes (speed 3)
2turn - speed lovered to zero
3 turn - U turn or (U3, 1U2, 1U1)

So to make an U turs (and P+P, S+S as well) I need to lover speed before the U-Turn. I cant make speed 3 at turn 1 and make only U turn with speed 0 in turn 2.
User avatar
Fjodin
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2009 10:43 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

Postby Go0gleplex » Fri Jul 17, 2009 1:32 am

something like that, yes.
I admit it! I'm a greedy ship-a-holic...next fleet please!
Go0gleplex
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 4:43 pm
Location: Keizer, OR


Return to Starmada Rules

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron